ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 in England

latest cricket

World T20, 2nd Semi-Final

India vs West Indies

at Mumbai, Mar 31, 2016
West Indies 196/3 beat India 192/2 by 7 wickets

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 in England

The 2019 Cricket World Cup will be hosted by England between May 30-July 15. This will be the twelfth World Cup competition, and the fifth time it has been held in England.

The hosting rights were awarded in April 2006, after England withdrew from the 2015 Cricket World Cup, which will be held in Australia and New Zealand. In turn, those countries had been defeated by India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka for the 2011 contest.

New format for the 2019 World Cup

Different format, 10 teams

The 2019 World Cup will feature 10 teams, down from 14 teams in 2011 and 2015. The top 8 teams in the ICC rankings - comprising the ten full members, Ireland and Afghanistan - will earn automatic qualification with the remaining 2 spots being decided by the 2018 Cricket World Cup Qualifier in Bangladesh.

The top eight sides in the one-day international rankings on 30 September 2017 will automatically qualify (see table below). The bottom four in that table will then play in a 10-team World Cup Qualifier in 2018. This allows ICC Associate and Affiliate members to compete for just 2 spots meaning the tournament may not feature any Associate or Affiliate nation.

Qualification methods
Spots Qualification
1England, as hosts
2-87 from top 8 ranked teams as of 30 Sep 2017 (excluding England)
9-10From 2018 Cricket World Cup Qualifier in Bangladesh

Lord’s set to stage 2019 World Cup final

The final would be held at Lord's, and the semi-finals at Old Trafford and Edgbaston Cricket Ground. Lord’s staged the first three ICC Cricket World Cup finals in 1975, 1979 and 1983. Lord’s also staged a Women’s World Cup final in 1993 when England beat New Zealand by 67 runs.
The opening match of the tournament will be held at The Oval.

World championship of men's One Day International cricket

World Cup Cricket history, champions | World Cup Cricket facts, trivia | World Cup Cricket records before 2007 | 2007 World Cup Cricket records | World Cup Cricket 1975 | World Cup Cricket 1979 | World Cup Cricket 1983 | World Cup Cricket 1987 | World Cup Cricket 1992 | World Cup Cricket 1996 | World Cup Cricket 1999 | World Cup Cricket 2003 | World Cup Cricket 2007 | World Cup Cricket 2011 | World Cup Cricket 2015 | World Cup Cricket 2019

Editor: Nishanth Gopinathan.